SPIM offers three awards. The Distinguished Psychologist in Management AwardRichard Kilburg Service Award and the Early Career Woman Psychologist in Management Award


The Distinguished Psychologist in Management Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the practice of management by a psychologist. It was created to recognize individual accomplishments in fulfilling the purpose of the Society of Psychologists in Management (SPIM), which is to facilitate the growth, development, and interaction of psychologists who work as managers, or who otherwise contribute to the application of psychology in management.

The award is presented to an individual who has developed, refined, and implemented practices, procedures, and methods that have a major impact on people in organizational settings and/or on the professions of management.

The award includes an honorarium, a plaque and an invited address at SPIM's Midwinter Conference.

The recipient must be a psychologist and manager (or one who has made major contributions to psychology and management). Membership in the American Psychological Association or the American Psychological Society is highly desirable as evidence of commitment to the science and practice of psychology.



2020 I. Marlene Thorn, PhD


2019 Sandra L. Shullman, PhD

Cathleen Civiello



2018 Cathleen Civiello, PhD

Terry Maple


2017 Terry Maple, PhD                         

Kevin Kelloway


2016 E. Kevin Kelloway, PhD

william mobley

2015 William H. Mobley, PhD

connie rath

2014 Connie Rath, PhD
judith albino

2013 Judith Albino, PhD
arthur freedman

2012 Arthur M. Freedman,  PhD

dale thompson

 2011 Dale Thompson, PhD
david baker

2010 David Baker, PhD

norman anderson




2009 Norman Anderson, PhD

bob lee

2008 Robert "Bob" Lee, PhD
al parchem

2007 Al Parchem, PhD

david campbell

2006 David P. Campbell, PhD

richard atkinson




2005 Richard C. Atkinson, PhD

eric haseltine

2004 Eric Haseltine, PhD
mirian graddick-weir

2003 Miriam Graddick-Weir, PhD

richard kilburg

 2002 Richard Kilburg, PhD
tom osborner

2001 Tom Osborne, PhD
marilyn gowing

2000 Marilyn Gowing, PhD
donald clifton

1999 Donald Clifton, PhD
bernard bass

1998 Bernard Bass, PhD

carl frost

1997 Carl F. Frost, PhD
joyce shields

1996 Joyce Shields, PhD
william howell

1995 William Howell, PhD

william howell

1995 William Howell, PhD

 harold tragash

1994 Harold Tragash, PhD

 francis horowiitz

1993 Francis D. Horowitz, PhD

william byham




1992 William C. Byham, PhD

 john conger

1991 John Conger, PhD

 kenneth clark

1990 Kenneth E. Clark, PhD
 robert perloff

1989 Robert Perloff, PhD

 raymond fowler

1988 Raymond Fowler, PhD

 charles kiesler

1987 Charles Kiesler, PhD
douglas bray

1986 Douglas Bray, PhD
harry levinson

1985 Harry Levinson, PhD


The purpose of the Early Career Woman Psychologist in Management Award is to ensure that women leaders, managers and consultants are actively involved in SPIM activities. The award is established to sponsor a deserving female psychologist in attending the SPIM conferences and institutes. The award will include $2000 to support the cost of conference registration, hotel, airfare, and institutes as desired. The recipient will also receive a complimentary one-year SPIM membership. Award recipients will be requested to write a short testimonial about their conference and experience with SPIM and provide a photo to feature on the SPIM website. At this time, we are looking for self nominations or nominations from SPIM members for a female psychologist who meets the following criteria:

  • Has the potential to benefit from SPIM and to make contributions to SPIM and its mission of facilitating the growth, development, and interaction of psychologists who work as managers
  • Has received a doctoral degree in psychology within the last ten years
  • Is currently serving in a management or leadership position





2020 Mi
ra Brancu, PhD

melissa jents




2015 Melissa Jents, PsyD

myranda grahek




2014 Myranda Grahek, PhD     

jennifer geimer




2013 Jennifer Geimer, PhD       

 jennifer nguyen




2012 Jennifer Nguyen, PhD     


The Richard Kilburg Service Award is given, from time to time, to a SPIM member who has demonstrated an unusual level of service and commitment, dedicating extraordinary time and effort to the goals, purposes and activities of the organization. The award is named for SPIM's first president.

al hollenbeck
2007 AL Hollenbeck, PhD 
For Exceptional Service as creator of the SPIM website and subsequent webmaster, 1999 -2006, as well as manager of elections, online surveys, and general advisor on all things technical.

david brandt
2004 David Brandt, PhD
In Recognition of Exceptional Service as SPIM Coordinator of Continuing Education, 1996-2004.

rodney lowman
2002 Rodney L. Lowman, PhD
In Recognition of Exceptional Service as Founding Editor of The Psychologist- Manager Journal, 1997-2002.